myra music
the website of composer Nigel Hess

Come, some music! come, the recorders! (from Hamlet)


A musical interlude from the Ron Daniels RSC production with Roger Rees as Hamlet. Frances Barber played Ophelia, Brian Blessed played Claudius, Kenneth Branagh played Laertes, and Virgina McKenna Gertrude. And way down the cast list was a young Cathy Tyson playing a ‘Lady’.


Description: chamber ensemble of 7 players

Duration (mins): 3

Genre: Chamber/Ensemble Works - Mixed Chamber Ensemble

Instrumentation: 2 descant recorders.treble recorder - perc(1): tabor - harp - keyboard - vlc

Commission Details: From incidental music written for the Royal Shakespeare Company’s production of William Shakespeare’s 'Hamlet'

First Performance: FP: 1984, Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Stratford-Upon-Avon, UK: Royal Shakespeare Company/dir. Ron Daniels

myra music © 2022