myra music
the website of composer Nigel Hess

Shakespeare Pictures (for Wind Band)


Commissioned by Birmingham Symphonic Winds, Shakespeare Pictures originates from incidental music composed for productions by the Royal Shakespeare Company in Stratford-upon-Avon and London, and is now expanded and re-orchestrated to form a new three-movement suite for symphonic wind orchestra. 

Much Ado About Nothing: Actually used as the entr’acte in the production itself, this movement – effectively a concert overture - uses material from the joyous dance sequences scattered throughout the well-known love story of Beatrice and Benedict, played on this occasion by Sinead Cusack and Derek Jacobi. The score was awarded a New York Drama Desk Award for ‘Outstanding Music in a Play’ during its run on Broadway.

The Winter’s Tale – The Statue: “Music, awake her, strike!” So says Paulina as the statue of Hermione comes to life at the end of this magical play. “Descend: be stone no more; approach; strike all that look upon with marvel.” In this production Jeremy Irons played a memorable Leontes.

Julius Caesar – The Entry to the Senate: this production featured a spectacular Senate scene, complete with cathedral organ and a battalion of brass players fanfaring the imminent death of Caesar himself.

Publisher: Faber Music

ISBN: 0571570070

Item Code: 0571570070

Series: Faber Wind Band

myra music © 2022