myra music
the website of composer Nigel Hess

Silent Nights

(for solo piano)

Silent Nights is a collection of beautiful carols imaginatively arranged by Nigel Hess for piano solo, suitable for intermediate to advanced players (Grade 5–7). Charming and nostalgic, these arrangements offer a different perspective on Christmas tunes with which everyone will be familiar.


Friends well met around a Christmas dinner table, and the warm glow after a meal of laughter and stories round the fire. And someone goes to the piano and starts improvising on everyone's favourite carols, and suddenly the evening becomes even more special and it’s a lasting memory well into the year to come. This was the inspiration behind Silent Nights – a peaceful and relaxing collection of timeless Christmas melodies for a quiet moment at the end of the day. 

What is it about these old and familiar tunes that strikes such a powerful chord within us? How can one particular carol suddenly conjure up memories of childhood, family, Christmases past, loved ones – and sometimes renewed faith and belief? I can think of no other collection of tunes which trigger such instant connections, and it was wonderful to revisit them for this collection, each one painting its own personal picture. Each carol will mean something different to each player, and that meaning will often go way beyond anything musical. And I hope these new arrangements will, in turn, create their own special memories during those quiet moments which we crave amongst the hurly-burly of the modern Christmas.

Nigel Hess


Contents: Away in a Manger / Silent Night / See Amid the Winter's Snow / Hark the Herald Angels Sing / O Holy Night / It Came Upon the Midnight Clear / O Come, O Come, Emmanuel / Once in Royal David's City / Angels, from the Realms of Glory / O Little Town of Bethlehem / Infant Holy, Infant Lowly / Ding Dong! Merrily on High / God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen / O Come, All Ye Faithful

myra music © 2022